### **ARGYLL AND BUTE COUNCIL**

### LEGAL AND REGULATORY SUPPORT

COUNCIL 23<sup>rd</sup> November 2023

### POLITICAL MANAGEMENT ARRANGEMENTS

#### 1. INTRODUCTION

1.1 This report invites the Council to give consideration to a number of vacancies on committees and other organisations. It also includes, for noting, the updated political composition of the Council following the byelection in Ward 1, South Kintyre, which took place on 2<sup>nd</sup> November 2023.

### 2. RECOMMENDATIONS

- **2.1** The Council is asked:
  - To give consideration to the current vacancies on committees and other organisations;
  - To note that Councillor Kelly will become a Trustee for the Campbeltown Common Good Fund and the Kintyre Education Trust along with the other Ward 1 Members; and
  - To note the updated Political Composition of the Council as set out at Appendix 1.

### 3. DETAIL

- 3.1 When the Council met on 28<sup>th</sup> September 2023, it considered a report outlining vacancies on council committees, external organisations and area-based organisations following the resignation of Donald Kelly as a Councillor for Ward 1, South Kintyre. The Council agreed to defer consideration of these vacancies until after the Ward 1 By-Election which took place on 2<sup>nd</sup> November 2023.
- **3.2** Councillor Jennifer Kelly was elected to represent Ward 1 South Kintyre at the By-Election held on 2<sup>nd</sup> November 2023.
- **3.3** The vacancies for Council's consideration are listed below:
  - a) Environment, Development and Infrastructure Committee one space
  - b) A83 Taskforce one space
- 3.4 Councillor Kelly as the newly Elected Councillor for Ward 1, South Kintyre will become a Trustee for the Campbeltown Common Good Fund and will also become a Trustee of the Kintyre Education Trust, along with the other Ward 1 members. As this is an Area appointment it will also be confirmed to the Mid Argyll, Kintyre and the Islands Area Committee at the next meeting to be held in December 2023.
- 3.5 The political composition of the Council has been updated following the Ward 1, South Kintyre By-Election on 2<sup>nd</sup> November 2023, and this has been attached at Appendix 1.

### 4. CONCLUSION

**4.1** This report asks Council to give consideration to a number of vacancies and to note its updated political composition following the By-Election on 2<sup>nd</sup> November 2023.

### 5. IMPLICATIONS

- 5.1 Policy none
- 5.2 Financial None

- 5.3 Legal None
- **5.4 HR** None
- 5.5 Fairer Scotland Duty None
  - **5.5.1 Equalities protected characteristics None**
  - 5.5.2 Socio-Economic Duty None
  - 5.5.3 Islands None
- 5.6 Climate Change None
- 5.7 Risk None
- **5.8** Customer Service None

# **Douglas Hendry**

**Executive Director with responsibility for Legal and Regulatory Support** 

6<sup>th</sup> November 2023

For further information please contact Shona Barton on 01436 657605 or by email on shona.barton@argyll-bute.gov.uk

Political Composition of Argyll and Bute Council, 23rd November 2023

# **Argyll and Bute Council - Political Composition**

## **ARGYLL FIRST (1)**

Douglas Philand (Ind) (Leader of Argyll First) \*

## **INDEPENDENT (2)**

Mark Irvine \*
Jennifer Kelly

## INDEPENDENT CONSERVATIVE AND UNIONIST (1)

Tommy Macpherson

## SCOTTISH GREEN PARTY (1)

Luna Martin

# **SCOTTISH LABOUR PARTY (1)**

Fiona Howard \*

## **SCOTTISH NATIONAL PARTY (12)**

John Armour \*
Gordon Blair \*

Jan Brown \*

Math Campbell-Sturgess \*

Audrey E Forrest (Depute Leader, SNP Group) \*

Willie Hume \*

Reeni Kennedy Boyle \*

# Jim Lynch (Leader of the Opposition) \*

lan James MacQuire \*

Dougle McFadzean \*

Julie McKenzie

lain Shonny Paterson \*

\* Member of the Strategic Opposition Partnership (SOP) – an informal partnership arrangement and not a formal political group

# THE ARGYLL, LOMOND AND THE ISLES GROUP (18)

Garret Corner (Con)

Maurice Corry (Con)

Robin Currie (LibDem)

Kieron Green (Ind)

Amanda Hampsey (Con)

Daniel Hampsey (Con)

Graham Hardie (LibDem)

Andrew Kain (Ind)

Paul Donald Kennedy (LibDem)

Liz McCabe (Ind)

Yvonne McNeilly (Con) (Leader, TALIG)

Ross Moreland (LibDem)

Gary Mulvaney (Con)

Gemma Penfold (Con)

Alastair Redman (Ind)

William Sinclair (LibDem)

Andrew Vennard (Con)

Peter Wallace (Con)

Note:

Con - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Ind - Independent

LibDem - Scottish Liberal Democrat Party